SRD Talk:Vampire

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

SRD Bar[edit]

This page needs a top SRD indicator (it has the bottom one). --EldritchNumen 01:20, 15 December 2006 (MST)

Done. —Sledged 01:34, 15 December 2006 (MST)


Aarnott 12:48, 9 February 2007 (MST)

Got it. Thanks. —Sledged (talk) 13:09, 9 February 2007 (MST)

Vampire Loopholes?[edit]

Do you really have to bury your spawns? I thought they just had to be ON dirt... so hell can incorporate their bodies... I mean, that's what I thought. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Penske (talkcontribs) 2008-01-24 17:11. Please sign your posts.

As a DM, you can alway tweak a bit to fit with your idea of how you'd like it to work, but as it stands, they have to be buried. —Sledged (talk) 16:39, 24 January 2008 (MST)

How many spawns could a level 10 vampire possess? It says something about twice hit dice. Does that mean only up to 24 since undead creatures use d12? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Penske (talkcontribs) 2008-01-24 17:11. Please sign your posts.

I'm guessing by "level 10" you mean character level 10 (where character level = racial HD + class levels) and not ECL 10. They mean number of Hit Dice, not Hit Die size. So he could control up to 20 vampires/vampire spawns. Otherwise they would have said "At any given time a vampire may have enslaved spawn totaling no more than 24." —Sledged (talk) 16:39, 24 January 2008 (MST)

Vampires can't cross running water yet retain the abilities of their base creatures. So if the base creature can swim, then couldn't the vampire? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Penske (talkcontribs) 2008-01-24 17:11. Please sign your posts.

Yes, it can still swim, but that has nothing to do with whether or not it can cross running water. It can still swim in lakes, ponds, and other still bodies of water. Just not rivers and streams. (I'm not sure how seas and oceans would affect them.) If a vampire with a swim speed were unfortunate enough to be immersed in running water, it'd have the benefit of being able to use the run action to reach the nearest shore before it was destroyed. A vampire with the fire subtype could swim in magma without harm. —Sledged (talk) 16:39, 24 January 2008 (MST)
Late, but "Speed: Same as the base creature. If the base creature has a swim speed, the vampire retains the ability to swim and is not vulnerable to immersion in running water (see below)." - If you have a swim speed, you ignore the running water thing. --TK-Squared 01:32, 17 August 2008 (MDT)
Could it really swim in magma? I would think being molten rock, that it would have a lot of crushing damage going on. Plus it isn't really that liquidy. --Aarnott 11:09, 17 August 2008 (MDT)

It says nothing about vampires vs. fire... —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Penske (talkcontribs) 2008-01-24 17:11. Please sign your posts.

This d20 representation of vampires have no special weakness against fire. Again, as a DM, adjust this however you like. —Sledged (talk) 16:39, 24 January 2008 (MST)

Another question- if a PC becomes a vampire, his ECL would be 8 higher than that of the party, thus unballancing the party. How would you sort this- would the character loose 8 levels? --Sam Kay 03:06, 3 February 2008 (MST)

Spread out the vampire benefits and drawbacks over the next 8 levels: Vampire Template Class. —Sledged (talk) 11:12, 3 February 2008 (MST)

The Ultimate Vampire[edit]

I'm attempting to create the ultimate Vampire Lord for my groups' campaign. The Vampire Lord is the one who turned Penskè (me), and later Anya, into his followers and told us to go out into the world and create as many spawns as possible and destroy everyone and such. Lots of destruction. No major details given. But there are two major NPCs in this campaign - the Vampire Lord and Rasputin (the vampire hunter).

Now, I need a little help in designing the both of them. As of now, what class should I give our big, bad vampire? I was leaning more towards some sort of spellcaster, but of what I do not know. And of Rasputin I thought maybe a paladin, but it would make it way too hard on us vampires since we couldn't touch him as long as he has his holy symbol...So what input can I get? --Penske 16:30, 2 February 2008 (MST)

If you have Tome of Battle, a 10th-level shadow sun ninja makes a good vampire lord, they don't have any weakness to sunlight, though all the underlings still have that weakness.
Template stacking. Give it the lycanthrope template, before applying the vampire template.
Libris Mortis has the master vampire PrC.
Fallen paladin with levels in blackguard.
If you go with a spellcaster, I suggest cleric or dread necromancer, so they can control other undead.
White Wolf produces the ravenloft campaign setting, and there's a rule for increasing a vampire's powers as they age. —Sledged (talk) 20:33, 2 February 2008 (MST)
I don't have any one of those books. Hmm. Maybe a simpler class though. Something that you know it's so powerful with its fierceness and ability alone without the aid of weapons and armor to strike fear into the living. Like, you look at Lord Dracula..he's weaponless and armorless, yet he's gonna kick your ass to the ground just because he's that good. Maybe, I thought, I should spice/make up my own version of the Fighter and have him specialize in his claws. And yes, I did take the brilliant idea of making my Vampire Lord a Lycan..though slightly redundant since a vampire can change into a dire bat anyway... --Penske 21:59, 2 February 2008 (MST)
Have a look at the Warhammer Vampire Bloodlines here for ideas. That might help, but not for rules. For them, you're on your own. --Sam Kay 05:19, 3 February 2008 (MST)
Don't know how it'd work from a rules perspective, but Vampire Monk would be COOL. For other ideas, depends on the Vampire style. For example, the Warhammer bloodlines- a Blood Dragon would probably be a Knight (PHB2) or Blackguard, a Necrach a Dread Necromancer, Lahmian... Beguiler, maybe? Just some ideas there. MorkaisChosen 07:28, 3 February 2008 (MST)
Are you familliar with warhammer? If not, then you made a very good analysis of the bloodlines with the small amount of info I put a link to. Strigoi would probabvly be a barbarian. Von Carstein would be hard. Fighter? --Sam Kay 08:49, 3 February 2008 (MST)
Yeah, been playing it for about eight years now, and my brother has a Vampire Counts army. MorkaisChosen 08:44, 4 February 2008 (MST)
Nice. I have my Vampire Lord pretty much the way I like him now. Powerful on his own with enough power to kill you with a bitch What of Rasputin?--Penske 12:23, 3 February 2008 (MST)
Speaking of Vampire Counts, have you seen the up-and-coming army book yet? Its really good... --Sam Kay 09:33, 4 February 2008 (MST)
Arghargharghargh is all I can say... ;-P I tend to lose to vampires... MorkaisChosen 10:47, 4 February 2008 (MST)
Bloodline powers can now be mixed-and matched (so you can be half blood-dragon, half necrach), and are seperate from magic items- you can have 100pts of magic items, and another 100pts of bloodline powers! You can raise ghouls with Invocation of Nehek! You can cast Invocation of Nehek multiple times per turn! Wraiths and Banshees now form units! Did I mension that I play vampires? --Sam Kay 07:28, 5 February 2008 (MST)
You realise you could give him a minor artiffact, or some magic items with epic powers. Even a cobbold could beat 10 dragons if it had A.... Melaraths Clock of utter flippin power...... or a wand of DEATH TO ALL and a armour of nothing-can=hit-me [ aedo }


Shouldn't vampire be considered undead only, they are in the humanoid category too.--Lord Dhazriel 13:09, 7 July 2008 (MDT)

The template can be applied to either humanoids or monstrous humanoids. So all vampires are either augmented humanoids or the augmented monstrous humanoids. —Sledged (talk) 13:15, 7 July 2008 (MDT)
That is to say, to clear up the confusion started in the tavern, the creature is either a humanoid or monstrous humanoid before the template is applied. Afterwards, they are either Undead (Augmented Humanoid) or Undead (Augmented Monstrous Humanoid). --Daniel Draco 13:33, 7 July 2008 (MDT)

true resurrection?[edit]

since vampire is undead, does it mean that when i cast true resurrection on my ex-party member will he be "normal" again?

because in undead description is written:

Not affected by raise dead and reincarnate spells or abilities. Resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead creatures. These spells turn undead creatures back into the living creatures they were before becoming undead.

Just as it say. --Dmilewski 06:46, 14 August 2008 (MDT)
Keep in mind that you cannot use this on an unwilling soul. It is up to your DM to decide if their new life as a vampire has changed their soul. --Aarnott 07:36, 14 August 2008 (MDT)


what about vampires and daylight spell? i think it isn't as strong as sunlight but it might have som effect but I'm not sure what should it be.. any ideas? --Aldarion 16:18, 16 August 2008 (MDT)

In the spell description of Daylight, it says "Despite its name, this spell is not the equivalent of daylight for the purposes of creatures that are damaged or destroyed by bright light". --Aarnott 21:47, 16 August 2008 (MDT)

ECL of vampire, (monster manual or savage species?)[edit]

What is the Level adjustment for a vampire, it says 8 in the monster manual which is about right for its abilities, yet nothing like the plus 2 challenge rating, which is more in scale with the +5 listed in savage species.

The LA is +8. This is straight-up unplayable, unfortunately. Surgo 10:02, 14 May 2009 (MDT)
Most LA is borked in some way or another, that's why they went to racial levels and substitution levels. Racial levels are still borked, but less so.
Anyhow, LA is a measure of how useful the abilities are to you, as a character. CR is a measure of how difficult the creature is to fight for one fight. --Dmilewski 05:32, 15 May 2009 (MDT)
The LA +8 is (and I'm justifying from result, not true evidence) supposed to be unplayable. Players are allowed to have fun being a vampire for all of one or two sessions, realize they're screwed in three levels, and work to cure themselves. Being a vampire is a bad situation; the drawbacks are going to outweigh the bad. Of course, I've houseruled it that sufficiently old vampires slowly lose LA until it reaches LA +4. They are getting better at surviving in the condition of vampire-ness. After they reach maturity, they gain spell-like abilities similar to the the Half-Celestial and Half-Fiend templates (albeit weaker because of the higher static bonuses) according to their hit dice. -Dr. Seymour (talk) 22:30, 16 June 2013 (MDT)

PC Vampires[edit]

What about PC vampires? Is that up to the DM? People seem to want to do it. And they don't seem to want evil. They seem to want neutral.I read a book called "Heroes of Shadow" which has most of the stats but funny; Not all. I decided to tell them to make them that way. It basically says its OK to have them assume and alignment. Is there any other thing that might shed more light on PC vampires? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by (talkcontribs) . Please sign your posts.

Well, what do you want to know about vampire PCs? It's up to the DM if you want to allow them, and it's up to you if vampires have to be evil. Beyond that I'm not really sure what the question is. JazzMan 13:54, 14 October 2011 (MDT)

My character, Astrid Wolfblood, a High Elf Vampire, is Chaotic Good. She started out as True Neutral and through freeing people from the arms of law she became Chaotic Good (Rebel), My DM said he would only allow my character to be neutral but due to the deeds and acts she has done she became good. Not all Vampires are evil. The PC should get some say due to their character's background (I make a lot of background) and if a character becomes a Vampire they shouldn't automatically become evil, same with Werewolves. It really just depends on what your character does, did, and is planning to do. Like assassins they don't have to be evil, Astrid is an assassin, but kills for the good of the people by taking down powerful abusive people and does it all for no pay besides her meal so she won't have to kill the innocent. They should be any, and If your a paladin or cleric, you just have to make a DC Will or Fortitude save of 14-16 to avoid straying from your current path.

vampiric wererats[edit]

Is it possible to put both the vampire template and the wererat template on the same creature?-- 14:37, 21 November 2015 (MST)

In dungeons and dragons it is possible. Templates will say if they are exclusive. However the ECL adjustment of such a creature will be pretty high as a warning. Tivanir (talk) 16:01, 21 November 2015 (MST)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!