SRD Talk:Monk

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search



  • Unarmed Strike: The damage for a Monk’s unarmed strike does not increase after 16th level.

Changed 16th to read "20th". --Dmilewski 07:49, 20 December 2006 (MST)


Should this page be tagged with Category:Outsider Type? —Sledged (talk) 10:22, 30 May 2007 (MDT)

Why would it be? --Green Dragon 22:48, 31 May 2007 (MDT)
Perfect Self: At 20th level, a monk becomes a magical creature. She is forevermore treated as an outsider rather than as a humanoid (or whatever the monk’s creature type was) for the purpose of spells and magical effects.Sledged (talk) 22:53, 31 May 2007 (MDT)
I see the good arguments for and against. This one is a judgment call. IMHO, Outsider does not represent a significant part of the class. In comparison, I'm not sure that a class whose sole purpose is to turn you into an insider should have the outsider type. By the same argument, a class should have a CR1 through CR20 tag because the class represents creatures in that range. We don't do that. A race should have CR1 through CR20 tag because that race could get class levels. We don't do that. We haven't been tagging by every possible permutation. --Dmilewski 04:33, 1 June 2007 (MDT)

Buggy Links[edit]

Epic monk feats, damage reduction, energy resistance and fast healing - the links are fudged. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by (talkcontribs) 04:13, 2 February 2008 (MST). Please sign your posts.

Fixed all links.--Dmilewski 08:16, 2 February 2008 (MST)

Two Weapon Fighting[edit]

If a 20th level monk used flurry of blows and had greater twf (3 offhand attacks), how would a full attack work (assume hes ussing two kamas? would you make 5 attacks as your flurry (with either an unarmed atof the kama in your good hand) and then make 3 attacks with your affhand kama, or would you get 4 attacks with your offhand, or would you get a total of 5 attacks including your offhand? Zau 11:51, 5 October 2008 (MDT)

You would do as the rules state, you would get the five flurry which is both main and off-hand, and you would get the additional three attacks from Two-Weapon Fighting. You would still suffer all penalties for all the attacks though. So you would get a total of eight attacks and the attack progression would look like this if the off-hand weapon was light, +13/+13/+13/+13/+8/+8/+3/+3. --Sarrow 12:32, 5 October 2008 (MDT)
Pure pwnage, that is a lot of attacks. definitly doing that. thanks for the help. Zau 12:37, 5 October 2008 (MDT)
Yeah, as a DM, that is what I would rule, both flurry and TWF don't address this issue and since they are both legal actions, then I would not see why you wouldn't be able to. -Sarrow 23:24, 5 October 2008 (MDT)
I realise this discussion was a while ago. But I'm very curious as to this topic.
Imagine a level 20 Monk thri-kreen (bug race with four hands) wielding four kamas. He has greater multiweapon fighting (3 offhand attacks/weapon). Am I right in saying he would get flurry of blows +15/+15/+15/+15/+15/+15/+10/+5/+5/+5/+5/-5/-5/-5? Am I missing out or putting in any unnecessary penalties? -SgtLion 18:13, 16 May 2010 (UTC)
I'm getting 6 +13's, 4 +8's, and 4 +3's. I don't know why you subtracted 5 from the off-hand attacks but, other than that, you were only missing the penalty of -2 to all attacks for light weapons in the off-hands. - Dr. Seymour 22:59, 27 September 2011 (MDT)

Table vs text[edit]

For some reason, the monk's flurry of blows ability according to the table is different than the one in the text. On the table, at level 2, flurry of blows is at -1/-1, and at level 3, flurry of blow is at +0/+0, but in the text it becomes -1/-1 at level 5, and +0/+0 at level 9. Not to mention on the table the monk gets a third flurry attack at level 8, yet in the text you don't get a third until level 11! Someone please straighten this out...

The table column titled "Flurry of Blows Attack Bonus" combines the flurry's penalty to attack and the base attack bonus due to monk level. It also combines the number of attacks granted by the flurry of blows and the number of attacks granted by base attack bonus. The descriptive text makes note of this: "The resulting modified base attack bonuses are shown in the Flurry of Blows Attack Bonus column on Table: The Monk." (emphasis mine.) —Sledged (talk) 17:00, 15 May 2013 (MDT)

Could there be a feat called Tree Fu that allows a monk to multiclass into a druid or ranger w/o restictions?

Might be able to help if you can say what restrictions you think should be lifted. Marasmusine (talk) 02:42, 5 February 2015 (MST)

The restriction I'm thinking of is the one in which the Monk character multiclasses into another class but loses the ability to go on with the monk class.-- 16:45, 8 April 2015 (MDT)

What is the difference between the monk class and a boxer (or wrestler) class?-- 17:40, 29 April 2015 (MDT)

Was there a variant monk called Combat Acrobat? -- 15:18, 18 July 2015 (MDT)

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!