SRD Talk:Multiclass Characters

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

XP Penalty Information not Present[edit]

I missed the XP Penalty descriptions and details about how favored classes works at least. I think it would be a lot useful. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by (talkcontribs) 08:16, 2007-08-29. Please sign your posts.

Unfortunately, the rules regarding XP penalties are Product Identity, not OCG, so they can't be posted on this site, except the bits that are already in the SRD. There are only three places (of which I know) in the SRD that even mention XP penalties: here, here, and here. They're mention of them is limited to the times when they don't apply. So the SRD can't expound on when the penalties do apply.
I did, however, copy the "Favored Class" section from races. —Sledged (talk) 09:46, 29 August 2007 (MDT)

Taking a Prestige Class[edit]

Can you take a prestige class on a level in which you fulfil the prerequisites (so that the first level of the PrC fulfils the prerequsites), or must the prerequisite be fulfilled by other class levels before you can take your first level?

For example, a fighter has a +5 BAB, and 8 ranks in the ride skill. The first level in the PrC would add +1 to his BAB and has Ride as a class skill. The prerequisites for the PrC are a +6 BAB and 9 ranks in ride. If could he take this prestige class if he took 1 rank in ride as one of his skills that level? --Sam Kay 08:32, 16 February 2008 (MST)

You cannot use the 1st level of a PrC to meet its own requirements. The requirements have to be fully met before you take your first level in any PrC. —Sledged (talk) 08:43, 16 February 2008 (MST)

Monster Levels[edit]

The SRD talks about "monster levels" in the Improving Monsters section. Maybe they should be defined here? I think they're equivalent to "character levels", except for monsters instead of characters. 14:25, 11 December 2012 (MST)

I've added a reference link. —Sledged (talk) 14:53, 11 December 2012 (MST)

Adding the BAB, HD, and Saves?[edit]

Could someone please explain this a little better? I know it should be pretty simple. My problem is I had always assumed you stop the progression of one and begin the progression of the other; Say I wanted to be a 5th Level SRD:Barbarian, and Multiclass into a 1st Level Brawler,_Variant_(3.5e_Class) at 6th Character Level. I had been under the impression I drop the Barbarian's d12 HD for the Brawler's d10 HD. The BAB is unaffected as they both progress "As Fighter". However the Saves change; Instead of +5/+2/+2 at 6th Level Barbarian, I would take the 1st Level Brawler and add that to my previously 5th Level Barbarian (+4/+1/+1) which would become +6/+1/+1 (The Brawler is +2/+0/+0).

In other words, you quite literally end the progression of one and pick up the progression of the other. But if we "Add together both classes", does that mean at each Level I would get BOTH HD, BAB, and Saves? In other words at 6th Character Level I get the d12 Barbarian HD AND the d10 Brawler HD? The +1 BAB of the Barbarian AND the +1 BAB of the Brawler (Effectively +2 BAB per Level), as well as the Saves of BOTH the Barbarian and the Brawler?

Because if that truly is the case, theoretically couldn't someone "Multiclass" 20 different times, have a very odd Feat and Skill set, but absolutely astonishingly high HD, BAB, and Saves? It almost seems that more so of an "average" should be taken. Say a character begins with a d8 HD and ends up gaining a D10 HD when they Multiclass. Say they roll the d8 and get a 4, while rolling the d10 they get a 9. 4 + 9 is 13. Would they get all 13 HP, only the 4 HP, only the 9 HP, or something in the middle (In this case 7 as 6.5 HP should be rounded up as it is "over" 6).

No, you don't add them together :) Marasmusine (talk) 01:07, 23 October 2013 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!