Talk:Stabilizing (5e Variant Rule)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

This stabilization does require an action, bonus action, reaction or object interaction to pull off, or you can do it many times on a turn, without taking an action to do so for melee weapons? Could a character with access to Extra Attack perform multiple attacks in each turn with such weapon? Anastacio (talk) 10:11, 5 February 2021 (MST)

"In order to attack with a stabilizing weapon, it must first be set up as an attack, which lasts until you move more than 5 ft. on a single round." If you have multiattack, you can "spend" an attack to stabilize, allowing you to use the weapon until you move or are moved. --Ref3rence (talk) 10:23, 5 February 2021 (MST)
The problem i see is, if you don't state exactly what "set up" means, it doesn't mean anything, at least mechanically. It should state something along the lines of: "it must first be set up as an attack, which can be done by using an action. If you can make multiple attacks on your Attack action, you can forgo one or more attacks to set up the weapon. Also, maybe using a bonus action would make this easier, wouldn't? (Edit) Oh, just saw you already changed the wording for an action! Anastacio (talk) 10:30, 5 February 2021 (MST)
"In order to attack with this weapon, it must first be set up" pretty clearly states the purpose of setting up, with the "as an attack", in my opinion at least, clearly stating how you do it. I'll revise it to make this more obvious, but I really don't think it's that big of a deal. Also, making it use a bonus action would negate half the cost, making this rule not matter. The point is that it temporarily decreases dpr and decreases mobility in exchange for more damage, which in most cases a bonus action does not do the former. --Ref3rence (talk) 10:40, 5 February 2021 (MST)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!