Talk:All Cast (5e Variant Rule)
From D&D Wiki
Who can benefit of this rule?
The rule seems fine (I actually like the concept), since in the action economy you are losing all your turn to cast a single damaging spell (the extra effects are optional so the DM can control it a bit).
I feel that this could make spellcasting classes even more powerful, so I suggest letting the players use other damaging effects, such as the dragonborn's breath weapon or a simple shortsword attack, if they feel like hitting once is worth it.
However, the fact that it only benefits players (from the wording, only players can use it) seems problematic to me. For example:
- Can't Albert, a spellcasting NPC helping the party, make use of the rule?
So, imagine we let NPCs (or "creatures" in general) use the mechanic. Then:
- Could Balda, the enemy wizard, coordinate with the player invoking the rule (maybe with an ability check?) and cast Fireball at the same time?
If she can:
- Would Cartus, the lich BBEG who doesn't really care about moving or using his bonus action (he probably can't outrun the party, so why bother?), be able to cast Finger of Death too? He can still use legendary actions, so even if he had rolled really bad in his initiative he could wipe out one of the PCs in their turn.
To sum up, if you are going to introduce a new mechanic, it seems fairer if every creature can benefit from it. I would add that only friendly creatures can join to avoid the aforementioned issue. Finally, I would allow other damaging effects. Draelm (talk) 11:01, 8 June 2020 (MDT)
- There exists another variant rule which precedes and technically inspired this one, which is the All Out Attack (5e Variant Rule). This rule was made for spells because that one was only on weapon attacks I think? Which is why this one was meant only for spells.
- I guess a DM can use this same thing for special effects like traits and whatnot (I can add that to the end paragraph since that's the DM-fiat part anyway).
- I mainly did not write this with npcs in mind since, at my tables, we usually condense all their turns into one big turn anyway. But if it is expanded to them, then yes, they could call on the rule in that fashion I guess.--Yanied (talk) 13:22, 8 June 2020 (MDT)