More Actions (5e Variant Rule)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

More Actions[edit]

This variant rule is not intended to change the way 5e's actions work in general, but rather add references to tabletop jargon that otherwise doesn't mean anything within 5e for use in homebrew.

While the way actions are described in Fifth Edition work perfectly well for the ideas present in the base game, but when it comes to homebrew content it can feel somewhat limiting. The following are various actions including and extending upon those in the base game. An action may be more than one kind of action, such as player taking a lengthy, distracting, rooting action (though this specific instance would be better summarized as a full turn action, or a rooting sub-action).

Base Actions[edit]

The following is a list of every kind of action creatures can take, including expansions on implied or commonly homebrewed rules.

Action[edit]

Every creature has 1 action each round, which can be used to do any of the following, or any bonus action or free action, during their turn.

Bonus Action[edit]

Every creature has 1 bonus action each round, which can be used to do any of the following, or any free action, during their turn.

Reaction[edit]

Every creature has 1 reaction each round, which can be used to do any of the following during another creature's turn.

Free Action[edit]

Every creature has 1 free action each round, which can be used to do any of the following during their turn.

Full Turn Action[edit]

A creature can take a full turn action at the beginning of their turn. If they take a full turn action, they can not take any form of action or move until the beginning of their next turn.

Distracting Action[edit]

A creature that takes a distracting action can not make an action or reaction on the same turn. Distracting actions are made as part of your turn.

Lengthy Action[edit]

A creature that takes a lengthy action can not make an action or bonus on the same turn. Lengthy actions are made as part of your turn.

Tiring Action[edit]

A creature that takes a tiring action can not move more than half their movement speed across their entire turn, and can not take an action on the same turn. Tiring actions are made as part of your turn. This kind of action effect can be applied to other forms of actions (i.e. tiring bonus action/tiring reaction/tiring free action).

Rooting Action[edit]

A creature that takes a rooting action can not move across their entire turn, and can not take an action on the same turn. Rooting actions are made as part of your turn. This kind of action effect can be applied to other forms of actions (i.e. rooting bonus action/rooting reaction/rooting free action).

Sub-Action[edit]

A creature that takes a sub-action can not take a bonus action or reaction on the same turn. Sub-actions are made as part of your turn.


Back to Main Page5e HomebrewRules

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!


Advertisements: