Talk:Daeijine Illithids (3.5e Race)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

I think there is a misunderstanding concerning LA and racial HD here. You wrote...

"Since they are LA 2 they start with 2 levels in abberation, ..."

This is not the case. Read SRD:Races again. Level adjustment and racial HD are different things. You could either have a race with LA+2, which means a character with one class level is treated as a ECL 3 to determine XP and equipment.

A character with 2 racial HD gains hit points, BAB and skills according to his type, but he is still ECL 2.

With LA 2 and 2 racial hit dice, the character would start as ECL 4 actually. Yes, this system is unnecessarily complicated by I didn't write it. --Mkill 05:19, 17 July 2007 (MDT)


I'll fix this, how confusing though. Does that mean an illithid with one level as a wizard (and no con bonus) only has 4 hp, or that he has the 12 hp a level 3 wizard would have? Anyway, I hope I have it right this time. --Eiji 00:41, 19 July 2007 (MDT)

Yes, since Daeijine Illithids have LA 2 and no racial HD, a first level wizard and Con 10 has 4 hp. His stats are that of a first level character, he just gets equipment as a third-level character and he counts as a 3rd-level character when the DM calculates the XP for completed encounters.
By the way, this means a critter with LA 2 should have enough abilities that a first-level character can survive, if not compete in a third-level party. Your Illithid has nothing of that. With all the weaknesses and only a Mind Blast (1/day) to make up for it, he's barely LA zero. You can just kick that LA. --Mkill 02:28, 19 July 2007 (MDT)

Don't state the obvious[edit]

Here's another hint about game design: Don't state things that are automaticly the case.

  1. If the creature has the Aberration type, there is no need to write "For all effects related to race, an illithid is considered an abberation." Just write "Aberration"
  2. "Proficient in it's natural weapons." - if a race or creature has a natural weapon, it's automaticly proficient. Just write "natural weapon, slam with tentacles, 1d4"

The reason is to avoid confusion. If rules are repeated everywhere, people might wonder what's wrong if some statement is left out in some cases. If you want to refer to or explain some complicated rule, write something like "note that creatures are automaticly proficient with natural weapons", or just link to the appropriate page: natural weapon --Mkill 02:28, 19 July 2007 (MDT)

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!