Talk:Blade of Grass (5e Spell)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Why does the spell require the grass to be from your space? What if your space lacks grass? What if I'm indoors, or underground, or underwater? Also, if I let go of one of the blades, what happens to the other? If releasing one blade causes the other to revert to grass, why? SirSprinkles (talk) 19:24, 4 January 2017 (MST)

It's not my spell, but:
  • It's a spell you can only cast when you are in grassy terrain.
  • When you let go of either of the sickles, the spell ends. They are only sickles for the duration of the spell. I think this is a deliberate limitation, for example the spell must end if I want to cast another V spell. Marasmusine (talk) 02:15, 5 January 2017 (MST)


With the way two-weapon fighting work in 5e, this really isn't any more powerful than the similar druid-exclusive cantrip, shillelagh. It trades needing a quarterstaff for needing to be in grassy terrain, but otherwise has basically the same effects. You get two attack rolls instead of one, but they only equal the average damage of a shillelagh hit if both sickles hit - and you need to use your bonus action just to attempt to do that. (Since casting this is a bonus action itself, you also can't also make both attacks in the same turn.) I appreciate the flavor and intention of this spell, but I see no reason for it to be a 1st level and not a cantrip... so I've edited it accordingly.

(This is kind of unrelated, but wouldn't "Blades of Grass" be a slightly cooler name?) — Guy (talk | edits) 13:01, 8 March 2017 (UTC)

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!