SRD Talk:Cat

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

To-dam confusion[edit]

Maybe there's something unexpected about the notation used in 3.5E -- something radically different from 1e, 2e, Pathfinder, and 5e, with which I'm somewhat familiar -- but this stat block sure looks like a cat heals you when it hits.

Seriously, what the heck is dam of "1d2–4" supposed to mean?? Surely you don't roll a d2 (er, toss a coin) and then subtract 4 from the result...?

Presumably there's something here I'm just not getting. If anyone cares to explain it I'd surely appreciate it. (I'd check this against the 3.5E rule book or monster manual but I haven't got one.) Bolio (talk) 22:50, 9 December 2014 (MST)

The base damage is 1d2. With a Strength of 3, there is a -4 penalty to the damage roll. The minimum damage on an attack roll is 1 (see SRD:Attack Damage), so a cat will always cause 1 damage with its claw. The full "1d2-4" is there in case someone casts bulls strength and magic fang or enlarge or somesuch on it. Marasmusine (talk) 01:23, 10 December 2014 (MST)
Thanks for the explanation! (I guess I should have looked up 'damage' before asking; oh well.) Bolio (talk) 07:27, 10 December 2014 (MST)
 :) Marasmusine (talk) 08:44, 10 December 2014 (MST)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!


Advertisements: