Discussion:Taking 20 with delayed result?

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Taking 20 with delayed result?[edit]

One of my players wound up captured, bound in chains, and thrown in a dungeon. He declared taking 20 on a strength check to break the chains, but delaying actually breaking them until he was brought before his captor. I let this pass as it had cinematic drama, but I'm not sure about future policy. Advice welcome. --Sir Dinadan (talk) 11:38, 20 September 2013 (MDT)

Sigma 7 (talk22:53, 21 September 2013 (MDT)[edit]

Taking 10 or 20 is only usable if there is zero penalty to failure (and there being enough time.) In case of breaking chains, a take 20 may be allowed if there's no active opposition and its permitted under the ruleset.

What might not work is delaying breaking the chains - you'd have to make the escape artist trick at that moment. Priming a circumstansial bonus through taking 20 may be allowed, but there would also need to be a bluff check to ensure the guards don't discover the chains are loose.

Sir Dinadan (talk09:06, 22 September 2013 (MDT)[edit]

That's an interesting idea. How big a bonus are talking? Perhaps the character's strength modifier?

Back to Main PageMeta PagesDiscussions

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!